ronkempmusic

Let's work together against bullying and help bring the teen suicide rate down to zero

In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination

with 10 comments


Voters in Anchorage, Alaska, chose discrimination against the LGBT community when given the chance to make things right.  Proposition 5, a ballot initiative that would’ve added the LGBT community to protection under their existing anti-discrimination law, was struck down. With 90% of the ballots counted, 58% voted against it.  Fifty-eight percent of Anchorage’s voters feel that it’s okay for its gay, lesbian, or trangendered citizens to be discriminated against, or bullied.

If you thought this was going to be an easy battle, think again.

This marked the third attempt at getting the Anchorage legislature to right a wrong and provide protection for all of their citizen; however, it was the first time it had been taken to the voter.  Sadly, each time up, it’s been knocked down.  Does this say that all people from Anchorage are mean-spirited and bigoted?  Of course not.  I once had a very dear friend who still lives in Anchorage, and he has a heart of pure gold.  And, 42% of the voters obviously agreed with it.  What it says, however, is that the misinformation, the narrowmindedness, and the intolerance still exists at a level that borders on lethal.  More to the point, in the so-called “red” states, it’s ingrained into the psyche of the citizens.

Giving extra or special rights to certain groups is discriminatory to those who don’t get those special rights. Please don’t be selective in your anti discrimination stance.

That’s what one bigot had to say.  Let’s make this point as crystal clear as possible:  wanting the same rights as every other tax paying, hard-working citizen is NOT a special right.  Expecting to be protected UNDER THE LAW against hate crimes and discrimination is NOT a special right.  It doesn’t matter if the citizen is gay, straight, black, white, and everything in between, these are just simple, basic HUMAN RIGHTS!!!

This goes back to what I’ve been laboring on for a while:  one of the biggest problems in this struggle is that there is an overabundance of people in very powerful positions who exact their own prejudices, their own hatred, their own narrowmindedness on the very people they were hired to work for…and, protect.  This is the land of Sarah Palin, and we know how much she’s for equal rights.  Once again, it’s that hardcore, extreme right-wing faction that’s working to sanction the extermination of a group of people they don’t like because of their warped understanding of Christianity.

Opponents, campaigning as Vote No On Prop. 5, complained that the law was vague and poorly written and would impinge on the religious freedom of residents opposed to homosexuality. The proposition included an exemption from the law for churches and religious organizations.

“…would impinge on the religious freedom of residents opposed to homosexuality.”  What does that mean!?  Can you read between the shallow lines here?  This is just one more state, “red” state mind you, that believes that discrimination, hatred, intolerance, and bullying against a group of people, the LGBT community, should be their right as Christians.  Wait.  I have to read that again, myself.  Is it me, or is that just purely insane!!??  “I’m Christian (which is to say “I’m a follower of Christ”), so I should be able to be as intolerant, evil, and violent towards the gay community as I please.”  I’m sorry.  That just sounds insane.

Fortunately, I know from my own personal experience that not ALL Christians think like this.  Nor do all Republicans, for that matter.  It’s just that extreme group way over there on the right who takes it upon themselves to speak for every Christian and every Republican.  Don’t let them fool you.  They don’t speak for all.  Reverend Samuel Tuttle left a marvelous comment on a recent blog post.  Read it when you get the chance.  And, in the midst of this madness in Anchorage, a true Christian left this comment on the online news article about the vote results.

I’m a devout Christian who has lived in Anchorage for over 45 years.  I am the chairman of my church and led a Bible Study in which Jim Minnery participated occasionally.  I have never been more disappointed in my community than I am today.  This community would be better if we didn’t thrive on the misinformation and fear sown by the few.  My faith directs me to stand up for the downtrodden, to stand for what is right in the face of injustice, and to show love to my fellow mankind, regardless of whether we share similar views.  Supporting discrimination is contrary to my faith.  My heart goes out to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender members of our community.  I grieve with you today.

Get it?  It isn’t about their rights as Christians.  It’s about them being bigots who are full of hatred and intolerance.  Religion is simply their shield.  And, never be fooled by the rhetoric:  it’s not about special rights.  Never has been; never will be.  It’s simply about basic human, equal rights.  That’s all.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We up here in anchorage aren’t bigoted you Liberal fool, we just don’t want our children and ourselves forcefully pushed to be around and or work with drag queens and overly flamboyant gay people (yes that’s right you Liberal bigot I called homosexuals people). You live the way you want to let us live the way we want to and shut up about it.

    Barbarian Republican

    April 5, 2012 at 3:45 am

    • Thank you very much for your well thought out comment. First, I would like to assure you that I am far from a fool. Of course, you wouldn’t know that since you don’t know me. Secondly, I would like to add that I did make sure I specified in the post that I wasn’t referring to all Republicans, just the ones who feel it necessary to call people names (bullying) and discriminate against people who don’t think exactly like themselves. From your response, it would appear you fit that bill although I could be wrong. Furthermore, thank you for making my point: that’s all we’re asking for from “you”…to let us live our lives, you live yours, and just be quiet about it. “Shut up” is just too authoritarian for me.

      ronskemp

      April 5, 2012 at 5:06 am

  2. Authoritarian like you left wing sycophants cramming your beliefs down our throats? You people are more bigoted than we are. I except people for who they are what they like to do who they love or by what name he or she calls God. However let’s flip the coin over and look at your side. I have spent a lot of time in the California bay area (Walnut Creek) the past few years with my son and I noticed the people down there absolutely hate and yes most Californians “hate” republicans, conservatives or libertarians. Once people there found out Im an Alaskan a republican and a hunter they constantly treated me without respect, give those dirty looks and would often ignore me. And I don’t just walk around down there preaching and pushing my beliefs and feelings on you people. So your left side of the world is just as much if not more screwed up, “Bigoted” (as you like to say), ignorant and disrespectful to our way of life as we are to yours. The true problem in our Country is that were “all” becoming divided over these silly “Politically Correct” issues or our second amendment when there really isn’t a problem with either one. Which is why I say we need to shut up and leave each other alone and not push anyones ideals or beliefs on anyone else. That well enough thought out for you?

    Barbarian Republican

    April 5, 2012 at 6:57 am

    • That, sir, was perfectly thought out. And, thank you for this dialogue. See, in my opinion, we are honestly not that far separated in what we’re saying. Yes, I do agree with you that the experience you described, from Walnut Hill(which I LOVE, by the way) IS exactly what we’re supposed to be against. I don’t condone it in the least. In fact, to be sure, I’ve written within my blog about discrimination WITHIN the LGBT community. See, we humans are perfect in our imperfections. That’s to say that we ALL fall far short of being perfect and all have things we can work on, at all times, to make ourselves better people. Your response actually made my day. Why? Because you’re proving to me that I’m right in my belief that, REGARDLESS OF WHICH SIDE OF THE AISLE WE SIT (Dems or Repubs), the overwhelming majority of us sit right there close to the MIDDLE of the aisle. From your seat on the right and mine on the left, I could probably reach out and shake you hand. YES, “the left” has its issues, too! And, you hit it right on the head!!! “The true problem in our Country is that were “all” becoming divided over these silly “Politically Correct” issues or our second amendment when there really isn’t a problem with either one. Which is why I say we need to shut up and leave each other alone and not push anyones ideals or beliefs on anyone else.” That’s YOUR quote!!! But, it could’ve come from my mouth! “You” wouldn’t feel that “we’re” pushing “our” feelings on “you people” if that far-right fringe wouldn’t constantly be making such a big deal about “us”, constantly, obsessively, focusing on “the gay agenda”. I’ve been saying for years that this country has become much too divided. Thank the politicians for that. It’s not by accident, but that’s a whole different topic. Mr. Barbarian, we’d have a much more peaceful world if we could, as a people, just shut up and leave each other alone… .

      ronskemp

      April 5, 2012 at 2:55 pm

  3. I do however like your article about bullying my props on that one good on you. That would be the way to fix your problem with wanting homosexuals to be recognized as minorities (which is what they really want). Fix the bullying and you could fix that problem. But is homosexuals get extra rights what about overweight people or people in hate groups? Aren’t they people too shouldn’t they get the same treatment? Why is it you never see an overweight person working at a gym or a white supremacist covered in those hateful tattoos working as a teller at a bank? For the same reason we don’t hire drags to work front counters or at a day care. They are scary wether you like it or not that’s the way it is. Fair enough?

    Barbarian Republican

    April 5, 2012 at 7:15 am

  4. […] In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] In Anchorage, Alaska, Voters Choose Discrimination (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

