ronkempmusic

Let's work together against bullying and help bring the teen suicide rate down to zero

More on Kenny Wolf

with 2 comments


Every teen suicide is hard to take.  Each time I write about another one, it takes another piece of my own soul.  And, there are some that I take very, very hard.  Jamie Hubley, for example, hit me like the ton of bricks.  To be sure, it was his suicide in October that led me to embark upon this campaign to make a change.  Kenny Wolf’s recent suicide hit me as hard, if not harder.  He was right here in my back yard, right there from my old neighborhood.  I know it’s counterproductive to blame myself at all, but I can’t help but wonder…with me doing this right here in Maryland, why wasn’t this blog or the facebook blog page reaching him?  And, if it was, what could I have done differently with it to prevent this from happening?

Second-guessing aside, I have some vital updates about Kenny.  Firstly, all reports of age were wrong:  Kenny wasn’t 17, as originally reported, nor even 16 as it was later reported.  Kenny was just 14 years old.  Secondly, his event wasn’t Thursday, the 5th.  It happened Friday, the 6th.  Thirdly, I have a link for those who would like to leave their personal condolences for the family and friends.  It goes without saying that this is an extraordinarily tough period for Kenny’s family and friends.  Indeed, for the entire community.  Letting them know that there are those of us around the world who are mourning Kenny right along with them will, I’m sure, help with their healing process.

Lastly, I can’t stress enough that if you or someone you know is struggling with depression, or any mental issues, bullying, and/or suicidal ideations, please, please, please reach out!!  There are many people, professional and non-professional alike, ready to reach back.

Suicide Support

STOP Teenage Suicide

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Befrienders

With this tragic event being right here in my backyard, I’m redoubling my efforts to reach out and bring this epidemic to an abrupt end.  Sadly, of course, it’s not going to bring Kenny back.  Or, any of the other teens who ended their lives far too soon.  But, it will, hopefully, prevent another family from having to go through what Kenny’s is going through right now.  That’s my promise.

Written by Ron Kemp

April 11, 2012 at 6:44 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This one was tough for me as well. I didn’t know him or his family, but my son is a sophomore at Arundel and has friends at church who knew him. I worry about the kids I know and what issues they might be facing without reaching out for help.

    theycallmetater

    April 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  2. […] More on Kenny Wolf (ronskemp.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

