ronkempmusic

Let's work together against bullying and help bring the teen suicide rate down to zero

Christian Knudsen, 14, Death by Suicide

with 15 comments


I was contacted on the facebook blog page and notified of another horrific loss to teen suicide.  This time, however, bullying wasn’t the culprit.  According to his friend who contacted me, there had been some bullying; however, according to his family, the culprit was depression.  Whatever the case, 14-year-old Christian Knudsen surrendered his battle Saturday, August 25th.

Says his grieving family, Christian had “…a zest for life”, was very caring and compassionate, had big dreams for his future and an even bigger faith.  Says his friend who contacted me, he was a “…fun guy who could always make you smile. You would always know when he entered a room. He was an athlete and had a passion for soccer. ”  But, I think one of his older brother’s friends said it best:

I don’t know him personally, in fact, I wouldn’t have even known his name if somebody brought it up. The only thing I would think of would be his brother, Erik Knudsen of Letters and Lights. Christian was Erik’s younger brother who was dealing with depression, so much so that he commited suicide on Saturday, August 25th, 2012. I know what it’s like to be in that position of wanting to die, but he felt it needed to be taken to a whole new level. I’m deeply sorry for the family and friends of this innocent boy, who was lost in all of the chaos of the world and the society. I don’t know the fine details, and I don’t need to. Christian was loved by many, but we never show the love to people because we think they already know. That’s where the problem is. If everybody who’s telling Christian they love him now, would’ve done it before Saturday, we might still have him here. Show your love for people, because you don’t know what’s going on in their lives. Don’t be afraid of what it could do.

My dearest thoughts go out to the Knudsen family and all affected by Christian’s passing. Hopefully it’s better for him wherever he is, because the pain he was having here was too much. RIP Christian. You’re missed and loved by many, even of those who don’t know you.

We don’t know the fine details, and we don’t need to.  What we do know is yet one more young person has been lost to teen suicide.  And, that’s a problem.  It’s a problem we do need to learn the “fine details” of so that we can better learn how to prevent it.  According to an online obituary written by a family member,

Although a community of family members, friends, and professionals worked hard with him, he had struggles that overcame his will to live

I know that the same held true with another highly publicized teen suicide from last October.  And, I’m sure that there are countless other survivors who can say the same thing.  Understanding depression can be a very helpful and useful tool in suicide prevention.  Of course, it’s too late to prevent Christian from ending his young, promising life.  However, we can still continue to work as hard as we can to learn more about the root causes of teen suicide, then work even harder to try to prevent more families from having to endure what The Knudsens are having to endure right now.  The mental health aspect of suicides is very real.  The more we know, the better we understand, the better our chances are of making a solid difference in preventing these life-changing events from occurring.

With September being Suicide Prevention Month Worldwide, I encourage everyone to learn more about depression, and other mental health issues that contribute to teen suicides.  Indeed, ALL suicides.  According to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention:

The emotional crises that usually precede suicide are often recognizable and treatable. Although most depressed people are not suicidal, most suicidal people are depressed. Serious depression can be manifested in obvious sadness, but often it is rather expressed as a loss of pleasure or withdrawal from activities that had been enjoyable. One can help prevent suicide through early recognition and treatment of depression and other psychiatric illnesses.

Sadly, we say goodbye to yet another promising young life.  We can go to a facebook memorial page set up in Christian’s honor and pay our condolences to his family and friends.  It won’t bring him back to them; however, it will hopefully help with their healing process to know that so many people care…and, are grieving with them.  Rest in peace, Christian.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been struggling with depression, and almost took my own life in mid July. I still struggle from time to time, but I’m handling it well.

    Ellennad

    September 3, 2012 at 4:25 am

    • I’m very happy you survived it and are handling it well. Hopefully, you’re also getting help for, and with, it.

      ronskemp

      September 3, 2012 at 4:30 am

      • Thank you. At the moment, I am not going to any counseling, but I often talk to friends, family, neighbors, and If I really need it, I’ll talk to my school counselor. That’s what I did the last week of school last year.

        Ellennad

        September 3, 2012 at 4:50 am

        • Well, at least you have a support group that is there for you. That helps. May I also suggest that you think more about talking to your school counselor. Stay well.

          ronskemp

          September 3, 2012 at 5:04 am

          • Yes, Any time I really need it, I talk to her. I even messaged her over facebook during the summer when we weren’t in school, but I still needed to talk.

            Ellennad

            September 3, 2012 at 5:07 am

  2. It is so sad when you hear of someone so young doing that. My dearest condolences go out to the family. I myself have struggled with depression and death. When I was 14 a kid I grew up with took his own life, he was 13. I’ll never know what was going through his head. All I know is it sent me into my own personal battle. One that I won knowing how hard it was to lose someone made me not want to die. It’s always sad. I personally have seen a lot of death in the 9 years since my friends untimely death. No one should use suicide as a last resort. There is always someone who will listen to your cries if you make them known. Again, I’m sad to hear of this child’s death. I just hope people see this and realize that there is always someone to talk to when you need it. May it be a teacher, parent or friend, reach out.

    Sara

    September 3, 2012 at 4:36 am

  3. I am a mother to an amazing 18 year old…in her junior year of high school she started to get bullied by a girl and her group of friends because my daughter started dating the girls ex. there was a dark time where I was so worried, the bullying led to depression that led to her hating herself, it took so much to bring her back from the edge, I am so thankful we reached her in time, that as a community we gave her the support she needed to see what an amazing person she is, shes now in college and still with the same guy and laughs daily and talks openly about how she feels, I only wish every kid could be saved from the edge, that no kid ever felt that type of sadness and confusion, every story I read about the loss of such a precious young life hurts my heart, and as the boy posted, if only people told everyone how much they mean to us, maybe it would help battle the inner demons…my heart goes out to all the families, friends and loved ones, I will do my best to make a diffenrence, in hopes of saving other young lives

    Carie

    September 3, 2012 at 4:47 am

  4. Why is this written like an essay?

    Caleb, at your service.

    September 3, 2012 at 5:48 am

    • I’m not sure I’m understanding your question, Caleb. Well, I understand it at face value, but what’s the point of your question?

      ronskemp

      September 3, 2012 at 5:55 am

    • Would you have rather had it in one big block? In “essay” style, it makes it easier to read and follow.

      Ellennad

      September 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm

  5. ~ @ & ) ~ Rest In Peacefulness & Lighte, Love, and Hope, for You will be dearly missed. ~ @ ^ * ~

    Ryan James Reid

    September 3, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  6. lost a friend this july to suicide. he was a lot like christian although he was 22. and basically what christian`s older brothers friend said is exactly how i feel. he said what i did. we miss you robbie.

    shelby

    September 4, 2012 at 1:39 am

  7. When I was in high school there was a point I was thinking about suicide on a daily basis. I had severe depression that got worse after my older sister was killed. It is a very dark place when you’re there and unless you’ve been there you have no idea. My heart goes out to this boy’s family.

    lavenderskye12981

    September 5, 2012 at 1:40 pm

  8. […] Christian Knudsen, 14, Death by Suicide […]

  9. I’ve thought about suicide but I take a look at my life and I always decide not to because you only have one life and you have to live every day until the end you should never consider suicide even if you hate life at that point in time life will get better just wait and think for a minute life is good what happens happens let by gons be bye Gones the past won’t change even if you try to sleep it off it won’t change and if you kill yourself think of other people and how sad their be and wonder what they did wrong just think

    TJ Lipinsky

    January 21, 2013 at 7:01 am


Leave a Reply

