ronkempmusic

Let's work together against bullying and help bring the teen suicide rate down to zero

Nathaniel Hamrick, 19, Death by Suicide

with 4 comments


While researching information about another unfortunate teen suicide, I stumbled across this sad posting on tumblr:

Rest Peacefully, dear.

Nathan Hamrick, 19 years old.  He committed suicide this morning.  His grandparents lived up main road,  & he rode the bus home with me all the time.  He used to drive me home when it was snowing outside.  He took his life after a supposed fight between him & his Ex-Fiance.  Mai heart goes out to those he was closest to.  His family, and friends, and even those like me, who felt he was a genuine person.  I hope you’re in a better place, Nathan.  I only wish I could have stopped it from happening.  You will never be forgotten. ♥~Tomorrow, there will be no school for those at mai High School. Councilors will be there to speak with anyone who needs to come.  & There’s now a Facebook page devoted to him. It hasn’t been a day, & he’s missed so terribly. ♥

Granted, the last time I followed information of a teen suicide from that particular website, it turned out to be a terribly cruel hoax.  Upon further investigation, sadly, I learned that this story is real.  The word on one of the facebook memorial pages set up in Nathan’s honor is that he had gotten in a fight with his ex-fiance.  However, that’s unsubstantiated.  What is evident on this facebook page as well as the other one set up to memorialize him is that he was very well-loved by both family and friends.  His mother posted this heart-wrenching farewell on one of the pages:

From his family, I want to say, Thank you to everyone that has said a kind word, called, visited or prayed.  Nathan was/is the best of the best.  His heart was as big as the world, but it could shatter with just one word.  He would take his shirt off and give it anyone that needed it.  He watched out for everyone but Nathan.  He loved his friends, and he would have fought side by side any one of them.  I was blessed to carry this precious young man inside my body for 9 months and then bring him into the world.  I gave him life and yesterday morning at 7 am I once again tried to force my life inside of him, but this time Mommy couldn’t kiss his boo boo and make it better.  I will always love you Nathan and baby I hope you have found peace.

Whatever it takes, and whatever the cost, we must figure out a way to drastically reduce the teen suicide rate.  It’s staggering to me that this is the third one that I’ve written about this week alone, and it doesn’t stop there!  What’s sobering is that these are only the ones I know about.  Make no mistake: there are more.

The question that has to be asked, repeatedly, “what can we do better to prevent these young people from ending their lives?”  I think removing the veil of secrecy would help a lot.  The argument is made that publicizing these tragedies glamorize teen suicides and influences other teens to accept it as an option.  NEWSFLASH:  they’re doing it in record numbers in spite of this veil of secrecy.  Suicide, and in particular, teen suicide is seen as a taboo subject.  And, to this author, that is counterproductive.  Blinding floodlights need to be shined on the subject so that awareness is raised and everyone can become better educated on how to prevent it.  Clearly, the status quo is not working.

What would’ve saved Nathan Hamrick’s life?  No one knows that answer; no one will ever know that answer.  What, if anything, could’ve been done differently that would’ve saved his life?  From everything I’ve read about this tragedy, there wasn’t a thing his family and friends could’ve done differently.

…Look at the kids. They’re reaching out to us, and we owe them more than what we’re giving them.”

We simply must find a way.  Too many lives are being lost.

Rest in peace, Nathan

********************************SUICIDE PREVENTION RESOURCES********************************

Enough is Enough: the blog page

Suicide Prevention

Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Befrienders

The Trevor Project

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You ask “what can we do better to prevent these young people from ending their lives?” Are politicians listening at all, or open to conversations? I’m in Australia, so I don’t know what the local situation is for you.

    In his opening address to parliament a federal politician here in Australia referred to a spate of suicides in his area and the urgent need for a mental-health program (called Headspace) to be brought to his electorate. This politician is also a conservative Christian.

    I wrote to this politician, mentioned his alarm at the rate of suicide in his area, drew a connection (using available research) between intolerance of homosexuality and mental-health issues / suicide and asked him to rethink his attitude on homosexuality and marriage.

    I was hoping it might have had some impact on him, but sadly he didn’t even respond to the topic of my letter, simply just acknowledging that I should read some of his speeches and to write to my local member of parliament.

    So even when the politicians are aware of the high suicide rate in regional and rural areas and want to do something about it pronto, they still bury their head in the sand and go la la la la la can’t hear you and then wonder why more kids are killing themselves like lemmings off the edge of a cliff.

    My two blogs on this situation are A letter to George Christensen and George Christensen, Marriage Equality, Mental Health and Mackay.

    THANK YOU for your tireless efforts on this issue. I share your exasperation.

    Michael Barnett

    October 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  2. Please check that the comment I just posted didn’t get caught in your spam filter. You can delete this message. Thanks.

    Michael Barnett

    October 25, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  3. […] nathaniel-hamrick-18-death-by-suicide […]

  4. Thank you for your kind words about my son. Nathan was a special young man who had nothing but love for people. He would help a total stranger without a second thought but he for whatever reason could not help hisself. It hasn’t been two months since this happened and there is not a second of the day that I don’t pray and ask why? My heart is broke and a piece of my soul is gone. When I closed my eyes to go to sleep on Oct. 16th, Nathan was smiling, joking with his brother, teasing me (like he always did). He showed no sign of ending his life before morning. He hugged me in the kitchen that night and said Mama I love you just like he had done a million times. Only this would be the last time I would hear those words or feel those strong arms around me. Something has to be done to stop this from happening to other families. Suicide is one of the three top killers of teens in America today. Does anyone not view this as a problem? My daughter’s friend committed suicide several years ago and the school would not acknowledge her along with other deceased classmates because she killed herself. Just because you try to cover something up doesn’t mean it is not there. We simply can not sweep this under the rug and pretend it doesn’t exist. Watch television or a movie, count how many times you see someone committing suicide and for my case how many times it is done by hanging. I didn’t notice this before all of this happened but you can bet I see it now. Schools bring in people to talk to kids about tobacco use and alcohol, why not suicide prevention? How about educating these young people that there are other alternatives and there is help out there. I talked to Nathan over and over and he knew how much he was loved. I told him on Friday before he died that I was going to take him for counseling because my words were not helping him anymore, he needed professional help. I didn’t get him there in time. Do I feel guilt? Absolutely. If I had suspected he was going to kill hisself that night would I have gone to sleep? NO WAY. Do I wish I could turn back time? You better believe it. I know I can’t and I know my son is gone forever but if one other child can live because they learned from this, I will maybe someday know peace.

    Paula Hamrick

    December 7, 2012 at 7:31 pm


Leave a Reply

